Brookhaven College

Home  |  Career Development Center  |  Continuing Education  |  Current Students  |  Class Schedules  |  Distance Learning = SAVE GAS!  |  eCampus  |  eConnect  |  Employees / News  |  Español  |  Future Students  |  Head Start Center  |  International Students  |  Students 50+   |  Transfer101  |  Workforce Training

Brookhaven College employee newsletter: Wednesday, November 17, 2010

AAUW Hosts Math and Science Conference

AAUW Hosts Math and Science Conference

AAUW members recently gathered at Painting with a
Twist for a fun organization gathering.

More than 200 middle school girls from the Carrollton-Farmers Branch and Coppell Independent School Districts came to Brookhaven College on Nov. 6 for the 21st Annual Reach for the Stars Math and Science Conference.

Since 1991, this conference has brought seventh- and eighth-grade girls and Dallas-area math and science professionals to the college for a day of seminars and speakers emphasizing careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Over the years, dozens of college employees and community members have helped to coordinate the conference, which is a project of the Farmers Branch/Carrollton Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW).

For many years, Anahita Sidhwa, astronomy professor, has taken a lead role in the even. This year, she said the event went so smoothly that it was a little scary.

The conference is presented annually by the local AAUW branch in partnership with Brookhaven College and Carrollton-Farmers Branch Independent School District. This year’s sponsors included American Eagle Outfitters Foundation, STMicroelectronics, Carrollton-Farmers Branch Rotary and the Civic League.

The event was chaired by Julie Moore, D.D.S., of Oasis Dentistry in Plano. This year’s team from the college included Dr. Richard D. McCrary, Dr. Peggy Mason, Dr. Claire Bambrough, Doris Rousey, Delryn Fleming, Dr. Juanita Zapata Flint, Pris Mowinkel, Monica Taliaferro and Sheri Van Court, who are all members of the local AAUW branch.