Brookhaven College

Home  |  Career Development Center  |  Continuing Education  |  Current Students  |  Class Schedules  |  Distance Learning = SAVE GAS!  |  eCampus  |  eConnect  |  Employees / News  |  Español  |  Future Students  |  Head Start Center  |  International Students  |  Students 50+   |  Transfer101  |  Workforce Training

A-Z Index:  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

News at Brookhaven College

Release Date Nov. 16

For the 20th year, the Farmers Branch/Carrollton chapter of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) conducted its math and science conference November 7th at Brookhaven College. The conference, called “Reach for the Stars,” focuses on opportunities in math and science for girls in 7th and 8th-grade. Julie Moore, D.D.S., of Artisan Dentistry in Carrollton, served again this year as the conference chair for this community event with more than two hundred and twenty-five girls in attendance from each of the middle schools in the Carrollton-Farmers Branch Independent School District. The college community comes together in support of the yearly conference that provides hands-on workshop sessions, presented by women in the community who are employed in math or science-related fields. Brookhaven College students served as campus guides and nursing students presented at one of the sixteen workshop sessions. College employees who assisted cover the full range of departments, including facilities, college police and continuing education staff members. Diane Brownlee, Melanie Gamble, Stan Pittman, Chuck Schero, Gerald Bartz, Tommy Gallegos, Dwain Moore, Curt Capetillo, Sarah Ferguson, Jamie Jenkins, Haven Abedin, Jamileh Stroman, Barbara Morchower, Nimmy Nair, Jimmy King, Blanca Klingensmith, Jackie Montes, Rod Taylor, Chaz Hafey, Nancy Krueger, Evonne Clark, Dusty Girard, Christi Carter, Dave Reagan and Mark Lopez assisted with the event in their individual ways. Anahita Sidhwa, Claire Bambrough, Delryn Fleming, Peggy Mason, Juanita Flint, Priscilla Mowinkel and Monica Taliaferro wore two hats for this event as college employees and active members of the Farmers Branch/Carrollton AAUW.

For the last four years, the North Texas Radiologic Technologist Society, NTRTS, has been recognizing the Top 25 technologists for each year. At an upcoming luncheon, the society will recognize the top 100, which will be the Top 25 from the past four years. This year’s list includes Dirk Snow and Kim Thieu, both Brookhaven College program graduates; Stephanie Wells, Radiologic Sciences professor, and Robert Sven Phillips, adjunct faculty member. Among the Top 100 who will be honored at the luncheon, the college’s program has 18 clinical instructors, adjunct faculty, faculty members and graduates included. Christi Carter, professor of radiologic sciences and program director, also is one of this year’s honorees.

Dr. Richard D. McCrary, interim president, welcomed students, guests and employees to the grand opening ceremony of the Automotive Technology Division’s expansion on November 4th. Surrounded by a colorful display of cars, trucks and sport utility vehicles, Dr. McCrary and Dr. Wright L. Lassiter Jr., chancellor of the DCCCD, also focused on the college’s efforts to continue to improve programs and provide outstanding facilities to our students. Advisory council members for the Automotive Technology Program had their fall meeting and luncheon in the newly expanded facilities, enjoying the addition of air-conditioning as well the additional lab space that was part of the renovation and expansion.

Brookhaven College Professional Support Staff Association (PSSA) members took steps at a recent meeting to recognize that many area families are experiencing significant financial stress. To assist these families to the extent they can, the PSSA members considered and approved a PSSA leadership proposal to make an immediate difference in the lives of some of these families. Traditionally, the PSSA has conducted an annual holiday luncheon in December. This year, instead of the luncheon, the members agreed to donate $2,000 to an agency or agencies that effectively serve those in need. Toward this end, a committee of six members was formed and over the coming week will determine the best use of the funds. While this is a PSSA initiative, the members believe it reflects the generosity of the majority of the college’s employees, said Bob Smith, PSSA president.



Editor's note: for interviews, photo opportunities and media support, please contact Meridith Danforth, assistant director for marketing and public information, 972-860-4823, or the Marketing and Public Information Office, 972-860-4700, main number, After hours, please call the college Police Department and ask them to contact the media liaison on duty. To receive news updates via e-mail from Brookhaven College, please send an e-mail to with your name and e-mail address for text-only news items.

Brookhaven College is proud to be an Hispanic-Serving Institution with more than 25 percent Hispanic student enrollment since 2006. Educational opportunities are offered by Brookhaven College without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, sexual orientation, genetic information, gender identity or gender expression..

Brookhaven College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award the associate's degree. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Brookhaven College.

The three-fold purpose for publishing the Commission's address and contact numbers is to enable interested constituents (1) to learn about the accreditation status of Brookhaven College, (2) to file a third-party comment at the time of Brookhaven College's decennial review, or (3) to file a complaint against Brookhaven College for alleged non-compliance with a standard or requirement.

Normal inquiries about Brookhaven College, such as admission requirements, financial aid, educational programs, etc., should be addressed directly to Brookhaven College and not to the Commission's office.